Synaptigen Ingredients: Label Breakdown & What’s Inside
Synaptigen lists seven ingredients on the label. Three are probiotic strains. One is a prebiotic. One is a mineral. Two are plant extracts. The formula is built around the gut-brain axis. This breakdown explains what each ingredient does, what the research says, and why the proprietary blend matters. No marketing language. Just the label.
Written and fact-checked by RecallPath Editorial Team. Last updated: . About our editorial process.
- Probiotic strains: L. Paracasei, L. Reuteri, B. Lactis BL-04. Well-studied for digestion. Cognitive evidence is emerging.
- Prebiotic: Inulin. Feeds gut bacteria. No direct cognitive benefit.
- Mineral: Tricalcium phosphate. Calcium and phosphate support. No established memory benefit.
- Plant extracts: Strawberry and peppermint. Antioxidant and digestive support. No peer-reviewed cognitive data.
- What is missing: Exact doses. The proprietary blend hides milligram amounts and CFU counts.
Proprietary blend warning
Synaptigen uses a proprietary blend. The label lists all seven ingredients but does not disclose the exact milligram amount or CFU count for each. For probiotics, this matters because efficacy is strain-specific and dose-dependent. Without exact amounts, you cannot compare the formula to published studies. This is the biggest transparency gap on the label.
The seven ingredients
Lactobacillus Paracasei
L. Paracasei is one of the most studied probiotic strains for digestive health. It supports gut barrier integrity and immune function. Its role in cognitive function is an emerging field. A 2023 systematic review found preliminary evidence that certain Lactobacillus strains may influence mood and stress response through the gut-brain axis, but memory-specific data is limited.
Lactobacillus Reuteri
L. Reuteri is well documented for digestive and oral health. Some animal studies suggest it may influence oxytocin and social behavior, but human cognitive trials are sparse. The NCCIH notes that while probiotics are generally safe, evidence for specific cognitive claims remains preliminary.
Bifidobacterium Lactis BL-04
B. Lactis BL-04 is a well-characterized strain with data on immune support and respiratory health. Some trials link Bifidobacterium strains to reduced inflammation, which is relevant to brain aging. However, direct memory trials with BL-04 specifically are not published in peer-reviewed literature.
Inulin
Inulin is a soluble fiber that feeds beneficial gut bacteria. It is well tolerated and supports digestive regularity. There is no direct cognitive evidence for inulin in peer-reviewed human trials. Its role in Synaptigen is to support the probiotic strains, not to enhance memory directly.
Tricalcium Phosphate
Tricalcium phosphate provides calcium and phosphate. Both are essential minerals. Calcium supports nerve signaling. Phosphate is part of ATP, the energy currency of cells. Neither has established memory benefits at the doses likely present in a proprietary blend. The NCCIH does not list tricalcium phosphate as a cognitive supplement.
Strawberry Extract
Strawberry extract contains antioxidants, including anthocyanins and ellagic acid. These compounds support general cellular health. There are no peer-reviewed human trials linking strawberry extract to memory improvement. Its role in Synaptigen is likely as a flavoring agent and antioxidant.
Peppermint Extract
Peppermint extract supports digestion and may reduce bloating. It has no established cognitive benefit in peer-reviewed human trials. Its role in Synaptigen is likely digestive support and flavoring. Peppermint can worsen GERD in some users and may interact with certain medications.
What is not in the bottle
Absence matters as much as presence. Here is what Synaptigen leaves out:
- Exact doses. The proprietary blend hides milligram amounts and CFU counts. You cannot verify if the dose matches published studies.
- Citicoline or alpha-GPC. No choline source that crosses the blood-brain barrier. A gap compared to memory-focused formulas.
- Bacopa monnieri. The ingredient with the strongest human memory data. Not present here.
- Phosphatidylserine. No phospholipid for neuronal membrane support.
- Caffeine or stimulants. The formula is stimulant-free. No afternoon crash.
- Artificial dyes or flavors. The capsules are plain. No synthetic additives listed.
How the formula works (in theory)
The gut-brain axis is the central concept. The vagus nerve connects the gut to the brain. Gut microbiota produce neurotransmitters and metabolites that influence inflammation, mood and potentially cognition. This mechanism is real and supported by emerging research.
But “real mechanism” does not mean “this product works.” For Synaptigen specifically, there are no published peer-reviewed RCTs. The probiotic strains have digestive health data, but human trials linking these exact strains to memory improvement are limited. The plant extracts have antioxidant properties but no established cognitive benefits.
The formula is coherent in concept but unproven in practice. The 180-day guarantee gives you time to test it, but manage your expectations. Probiotic-based formulas typically require 8 to 12 weeks of consistent use before any subjective changes appear.
Safety notes
Probiotic warnings
Probiotics are generally safe for healthy adults. Some users report mild bloating, gas or loose stools in the first one to two weeks. This is common and usually fades. People with compromised immune systems, serious illness, or those using catheters should avoid probiotics unless cleared by a doctor.
Allergy warnings
Synaptigen contains strawberry extract. Avoid if you have a strawberry allergy. Peppermint extract can worsen GERD. Check the label for all allergen warnings before use.
Drug interaction warnings
Peppermint may interact with medications broken down by the liver. Inulin can affect blood sugar in people with diabetes. If you take prescription medication, show the label to your doctor or pharmacist before starting.
The bottom line
Synaptigen is a seven-ingredient probiotic formula with a coherent gut-brain axis concept. The strains are well-studied for digestion. The cognitive evidence is emerging but limited. The proprietary blend hides the doses, which is the biggest transparency gap.
For users curious about the gut-brain connection, Synaptigen is a low-risk experiment. For users who want ingredients with established memory data, formulas containing bacopa or citicoline have stronger peer-reviewed support.
For the scam investigation, read our Is Synaptigen a Scam? guide. For a comparison of every bottle we tested, see Best Memory Supplements of 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is in Synaptigen?
Seven ingredients: three probiotic strains (L. Paracasei, L. Reuteri, B. Lactis BL-04), one prebiotic (inulin), one mineral (tricalcium phosphate), and two plant extracts (strawberry, peppermint). No proprietary blend disclosure of exact doses.
Does Synaptigen disclose exact doses?
No. The formula is a proprietary blend. The label lists all seven ingredients but does not disclose the milligram amount or CFU count for each. This makes it impossible to compare the doses to published studies.
What are the probiotic strains in Synaptigen?
Lactobacillus Paracasei, Lactobacillus Reuteri and Bifidobacterium Lactis BL-04. All three are well-studied for digestive health. Their role in cognitive function is an emerging field with limited human memory data.
Does Synaptigen contain caffeine?
No. The formula is stimulant-free. No caffeine, no guarana, no synephrine.
Can Synaptigen cause bloating?
Yes. Probiotics and prebiotics can cause mild bloating, gas or loose stools in the first one to two weeks as the gut microbiome adjusts. This is common and usually fades. Take it with food to reduce discomfort.
Is Synaptigen safe for seniors?
For most healthy adults, yes. If you are over 60 and have a compromised immune system, serious illness, or take multiple medications, check with your doctor first. Probiotics are generally safe but not risk-free for everyone.
Does Synaptigen have a money-back guarantee?
The seller advertises a 180-day refund window. Start your return before day 180. Keep your order confirmation. Some buyers report that the process requires paying for return shipping. Read the policy carefully.
How long before Synaptigen works?
Give it 8 to 12 weeks. Probiotic-based formulas need time to colonize the gut and influence the gut-brain axis. There are no published peer-reviewed RCTs for this specific formula, so individual results vary widely.
Sources and References
Need help choosing?
RecallPath does not sell supplements. We publish facts for readers over 40.
Email us